Hekari made us Proud

Posted: December 9, 2010 in Citizenship, Information, Out n About, Sports

It was 1:30 am in the morning…… and I have just camped under my tin-roof sacked at Tauram Beach in Port Moresby. Red-eyed from sleep, I rushed to put on my small generator so I can get a glimpsed of Hekari United in action againts Al Wahda in Abu Dhabi. Generator started and my portal TV switched on, I seached to find the correct channel to get EMTV. However, my wired-hanger antenna just couldn’t pick out the signal.

Disappointed, I resorted to text my friends who would be awake to watch the match on TV. Yes… found someone up… Thankyou David.. but no thankyou for the result of 2-0 before half-time.

Balloons deflated, a feeling of disappointment I walked into my little sack and just wanted to get some sleep and forget that Hekari was loosing and quietly hoping that Hekari would come back into the second half and turn things around. Hopefully if I go to sleep and get up in the morning to turn my computer on, i’d get a different result which would have made my entire week.

It was not to be……but one thing Hekari would have gone away with is the fact that they have seen football biggest stage. They would have now experience what is like to be competing againts the worlds best. And to be a force to be reckon with, they need to polish up on their act, play with their hearts and play smarter…

Hekari has made Papua New Guinea proud and certainly all of the Pacific Islands!!!

Leave a Reply

