Vodcasting key to Media Development

Posted: March 12, 2008 in Information, Out n About, Technology

My media training class where asked to do podcasting. So what is vodcasting??

According to WikipediaVideo podcast (sometimes shortened to vidcast or vodcast) is a term used for the online delivery of video on demand video clip content via Atom or RSS enclosures. The term is an evolution specialized for video, coming from the generally audio-based podcast and referring to the distribution of video where the RSS feed is used as a non-linear TV channel to which consumers can subscribe using a PC, TV, set-top box, media center or mobile multimedia device.”

So my small class which I have been facilitating for media training armed with a digital camera started to take short clips of them to upload onto youtube as part of their training. But because we there are 10 of them… we decided to make just one video and combine smaller ones together. I decided also to add a few pictures I took on my trips around PNG so it gives a PNG flavor to the video. While the final product was not as impressive…. due to lack of better video editing software… I was able to upload something.

There has been an interesting discussion also on Masalai blog about Government TV and my good friend Badira has suggested that digicams and camcorders would be easily accessible to young people who would produce short clips and make content out of it to be aired on TV. So maybe this is the first step towards such activities….a crash course on social media. 

Comments
  1. Emmanuel says:

    What software are you using? Sorry for being slack as I know I’m supposed to give you Adobe Audition

  2. Emmanuel says:

    Sorry I meant Adobe Premier

  3. Buai Vendor says:

    Have couple of video/DVD editing softwares bought from Malaysia. Will bring them into office tomorrow, contact me to pick them up. BV

  4. Rex says:

    I used windows movie maker…… 😆
    Yeah… its limited…

    Thanks… I’ll drop a CD off at your office if need be.

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

